Franklin wins New Zealand a thriller in the first momentum ODI

cricketing portrait
New Zealand have finally turned it around.The first Momentum ODI between New Zealand and South Africa was a match the New Zealanders will remember for a long long time.The pitch looked to have assistance for the bowlers as most part of the match was dominated by the bowlers.The New Zealanders bowled well to restrict South Africa to 208 but their batting woes continued as at one point they were loosing too many wickets too quickly but the way Franklin held his nerve and was not fazed by the situation it always looked like they "might" just win.New Zealand in the end managed a thrilling one wicket win over South Africa to lead the 3 ODI  Momentum series 1-0.

Highlights of the match:

South Africa Batting & Bowling:

F du Plessis - Batting - 57(72)

R McLaren - Bowling - 4 Wickets for 46 Runs

New Zealand Batting & Bowling:

James Franklin - Batting - 47(61)*

BJ Watling - Batting - 45(78)

MJ McClenaghan - Bowling - 4 Wickets for 20 Runs


South Africa innings (50 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
HM Amla lbw b Mills 1319221059.09
GC Smith lbw b McClenaghan 731150046.66
CA Ingram c NL McCullum b Williamson 2968582150
AB de Villiers* lbw b McClenaghan 71681087.5
F du Plessis c Nicol b Williamson 57145723079.16
Q de Kock† c NL McCullum b Franklin 1837341052.94
R McLaren c †BB McCullum b Williamson 3353393084.61
RJ Peterson lbw b McClenaghan 044000
RK Kleinveldt c Mills b Williamson 26212013130
DW Steyn b McClenaghan 013000
LL Tsotsobe not out 0114000
Extras (b 4, lb 3, w 10, nb 1) 18
Total (all out; 46.2 overs; 212 mins) 208(4.48 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ Extras
KD Mills 815516.87(1nb, 2w)
MJ McClenaghan 1022042(2w)
NL McCullum 603405.66
JEC Franklin 1014414.4(2w)
KS Williamson 7.202243
JDS Neesham 402205.5(3w)
GD Elliott 10404
New Zealand innings (target: 209 runs from 50 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
RJ Nicol c Smith b Tsotsobe 4961066.66
MJ Guptill run out (de Villiers) 01000-
BJ Watling b McLaren 45124785057.69
KS Williamson c du Plessis b Tsotsobe 524151033.33
BB McCullum*† lbw b Kleinveldt 2646402165
GD Elliott c Smith b Kleinveldt 11080012.5
JEC Franklin not out 47139615077.04
JDS Neesham lbw b McLaren 012000
NL McCullum lbw b McLaren 24322140114.28
KD Mills b McLaren 2643401165
MJ McClenaghan not out 0156000
Extras (lb 13, w 15, nb 3) 31
Total (9 wickets; 45.4 overs; 236 mins) 209(4.57 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ Extras
DW Steyn 1033303.3(2w)
LL Tsotsobe 824325.37
RK Kleinveldt 903724.11(1nb, 9w)
R McLaren 8.404645.3(2nb, 3w)
RJ Peterson 1003703.7


Passionate about Technology, Gaming, WWE, Cricket and of course blogging.


Post a Comment


Copyright @ 2014 GamerzWWE.